Skip to main content

Removing a user from your organization

Roles and permissions

  • Only administrators can remove users from the organization.

In Hyperproof, when you deactivate or remove a user, you can reassign their responsibilities to another Hyperproof user. Reassigning does more than transfer active work; it updates permissions, ownership, primary contacts, and assignees across the platform.

Tip: If you want to reactivate the user in your organization, scroll to the end of the Users list, locate the user, and then click Reactivate.

The table and notes below outline what happens in Hyperproof when you reassign responsibilities to a new user as part of deactivating or removing a user from your organization.

Objects that can be reassigned

Hyperproof object

Assigned responsibility

Access reviews

  • Primary contact

  • Default Reviewer

  • Default Sysadmin

The new user is assigned one or more of these responsibilities based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Access reviews - User access records

  • Assigned Reviewer

  • Assigned Sysadmin

The new user is assigned one or more of these responsibilities based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Approver

Approver for a policy revision

Approvals

Assignee

Assessments

Primary contact

Audits

Primary contact

Controls

Owner

Control scopes

Owner

Groups

Group Membership

If the deactivated user was the group lead, a new group lead must be assigned manually.

Issues

  • Assignee

  • Business Owner

  • Executive Sponsor

The new user is assigned one or more of these responsibilities based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Policies

Owner

Programs

Primary contact

Repeating tasks

  • Assignee

  • Organizer

Either or both responsibilities are assigned to the new user based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Note: If the repeating task integrates with another system, such as Jira, the new Organizer must have already configured a connection to that system in Hyperproof. If they have not, ask them to configure one task with a connection to the third-party system before you reassign the work from the Deactivated user. This allows Hyperproof to transfer ownership from the Deactivated user to the new Organizer without breaking the connection.
​
If the new Organizer doesn't have a connection, they are still assigned to the repeating task, but the connection breaks.
​
If you have a broken connection in a repeating task, see Changing a connection on a repeating task for more information.

Repeating task control scope assignments

Assignee

Requests

Assignee

Risks

Owner

Role assignments

User's role on all reassigned objects

If the target user or a new user has a lower role on the object, Hyperproof upgrades that user to the deactivated user's role. Otherwise, the target user retains their role.

Scopes

Owner

Tasks

Assignee

Vendors

Owner

Objects that can't be reassigned

  • Integrated tasks created by the Deactivated User. For example, Hyperproof tasks integrated with Jira or Asana can't be reassigned.
    ​
    ​Note: When integrated tasks are reassigned, the connections to third-party systems, such as Jira or Asana, break and must be reestablished. See Changing task integration connection credentials for instructions.
    ​

  • LiveSync connections created by the deactivated user. The connections must be recreated by the new user.

  • Group Lead can't be reassigned and must be reconfigured manually.

Notifications and deactivated users

Note that Hyperproof does not send notifications to deactivated users.

  • If the deactivated user is the assignee of the work, the notification isn't sent.

  • If the deactivated user assigned the work and the notification comes from that user, the notification is sent, and the deactivation status is displayed in the notification. For example, Jane Doe (Deactivated) assigned you a task.

Deactivating a single user

  1. From the left menu, select Settings.

  2. Select People.

  3. Locate the user you want to remove, then click Deactivate.

    deactivate-user.png

    The Deactivate window opens.
    ​

    If the user has work assigned to them, you can reassign it to another active member in your organization. If the user doesn’t have any work assigned to them, or you don't want to reassign their work, skip to step 5. If the user doesn't have any work assigned, you won't see the option to transfer work.

  4. From the Assign their work to drop-down menu, select a user to transfer the deactivated user’s work to.

  5. Click Deactivate.

    The user is deactivated from your Hyperproof organization.

Deactivating multiple users at once

  1. From the left menu, select Settings.

  2. Select People.

  3. Select the checkboxes next to the users whom you want to remove.

  4. Click Deactivate.

    The Edit user window opens.

    If the users have work assigned to them, you can reassign it to another active member in your organization. If the users don't have any work assigned to them, you won't see the option to transfer work.

  5. From the Assign their work to drop-down menu, select a user to transfer the deactivated users' work to.

  6. Click Review.

  7. Click Confirm.

    The users are deactivated in your Hyperproof organization.

Related terms: off boarding, offboarding, offboard

Did this answer your question?