Skip to main content

Reassigning work for a deactivated user

Roles and permissions

The following roles can reassign work:

  • Administrators

When a user is deactivated manually, you can reassign their work to another Hyperproof user during the deactivation process. If you choose to skip that step, the user's work remains unassigned until you reassign it later.
​

If you have configured the Deactivate inactive users option under Settings > Security > Accounts, users are automatically deactivated based on the number of days of inactivity. In this case, the deactivated user's work also remains unassigned and needs to be reassigned. When the user is deactivated, all administrators in the organization are notified and reminded that the user's work must be reassigned.

Reassigning does more than transfer active work; it updates permissions, ownership, primary contacts, and assignees across the platform. The table and notes below outline what happens in Hyperproof when you reassign responsibilities to a new user as part of deactivating or removing a user from your organization.

Objects that can be reassigned

Hyperproof object

Assigned responsibility

Access reviews

  • Primary contact

  • Default Reviewer

  • Default Sysadmin

The new user is assigned one or more of these responsibilities based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Access reviews - User access records

  • Assigned Reviewer

  • Assigned Sysadmin

The new user is assigned one or more of these responsibilities based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Approver

Approver for a policy revision

Approvals

Assignee

Assessments

Primary contact

Audits

Primary contact

Controls

Owner

Control scopes

Owner

Groups

Group Membership

If the deactivated user was the group lead, a new group lead must be assigned manually.

Issues

  • Assignee

  • Business Owner

  • Executive Sponsor

The new user is assigned one or more of these responsibilities based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Policies

Owner

Programs

Primary contact

Repeating tasks

  • Assignee

  • Organizer

Either or both responsibilities are assigned to the new user based on the deactivated user's responsibilities.

Note: If the repeating task integrates with another system, such as Jira, the new Organizer must have already configured a connection to that system in Hyperproof. If they have not, ask them to configure one task with a connection to the third-party system before you reassign the work from the Deactivated user. This allows Hyperproof to transfer ownership from the Deactivated user to the new Organizer without breaking the connection.
​
If the new Organizer doesn't have a connection, they are still assigned to the repeating task, but the connection breaks.
​
If you have a broken connection in a repeating task, see Changing a connection on a repeating task for more information.

Repeating task control scope assignments

Assignee

Requests

Assignee

Risks

Owner

Role assignments

User's role on all reassigned objects

If the target user or a new user has a lower role on the object, Hyperproof upgrades that user to the deactivated user's role. Otherwise, the target user retains their role.

Scopes

Owner

Tasks

Assignee

Vendors

Owner

Objects that can't be reassigned

  • Integrated tasks created by the Deactivated User. For example, Hyperproof tasks integrated with Jira or Asana can't be reassigned.
    ​
    ​Note: When integrated tasks are reassigned, the connections to third-party systems, such as Jira or Asana, break and must be reestablished. See Changing task integration connection credentials for instructions.
    ​

  • LiveSync connections created by the deactivated user. The connections must be recreated by the new user.

  • Group Lead can't be reassigned and must be reconfigured manually.

Notifications and deactivated users

Note that Hyperproof does not send notifications to deactivated users.

  • If the deactivated user is the assignee of the work, the notification isn't sent.

  • If the deactivated user assigned the work and the notification comes from that user, the notification is sent, and the deactivation status is displayed in the notification. For example, Jane Doe (Deactivated) assigned you a task.

Reassigning work for a deactivated user

  1. From the left menu, select Settings.

  2. Select the People tab.

  3. Locate the deactivated user, then click Reassign work. Note that the Reassign work link disappears once you reassign the user's work.

    The Reassign work window displays.

    reassign-work.png

  4. From the Assign their work to drop-down menu, select a user to receive the assigned work.​

  5. Click Reassign.

    A popup message displays indicating that the work reassignment was successful.

Did this answer your question?